Fixed dates and venue


CTA's button

Distinguished Achievement Awards


Thank you to all who nominated an individual, company, organization, or institution for this prestigious award.

The OTC 2022 Distinguished Achievement Awards Event will recognize the award recipients and provide an excellent opportunity for industry leaders to network with colleagues from around the world. 

The 2022 Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) Board of Directors selects Drew Michel​ for individual achievement, Shell’s Appomattox Project for institutional achievement, and Roland Moreau for the Heritage Award. Read more about the 2022 recipients below.

OTC Distinguished Achievement Award recipients will be recognized at OTC 2022. 

To review past Distinguished Achievement Award recipients, click here

Attend the Distinguished Achievement Awards Event

The reception will recognize the 2022 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients. 

DATE: Sunday, 1 May
TIME: 1730–1930 CDT [UTC-5]
LOCATION: NRG Center, Level 2, Room 300
TICKET PRICE: USD 25 Members | USD 50 Nonmembers

DAA Events Reception

2022 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals
Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals

Drew Michel will be honored with the Distinguished Achievement Award for Individuals for his pioneering work on improving diver safety, the development and advancement of commercial Remotely Operated Vehicles (ROV) and encouraging the next generation to study science and math and pursue careers in marine technology.

Read more

Distinguished Achievement Award for Companies, Organizations, and Institutions
Distinguished Achievement Award for Companies, Organizations, and Institutions

Shell will be presented the OTC Distinguished Achievement Award in recognition of its Appomattox Project in the Gulf of Mexico, Shell’s largest and most complex deepwater megaproject to date. Appomattox started production in May 2019 – four months ahead of schedule- and its 40-year design life provides modern and efficient infrastructure for the safe and sustainable delivery of energy to the United States.

Read more

OTC Heritage Award
OTC Heritage Award

The Heritage Award will be presented to Roland Moreau for his leadership in advocating for the gathering and analyzing of safety data and sharing learnings from operations in the Gulf of Mexico to improve industry safety.

Read more

About the OTC Distinguished Achievement Awards

The Offshore Technology Conference Distinguished Achievement Awards is a significant event for OTC and its supporters. It recognizes the OTC Distinguished Achievement Award recipients and provides an excellent opportunity for industry executives and leaders to network with colleagues from around the world.

The net proceeds from the awards dinner are donated to a charitable organization that is in some way connected to the offshore energy industry or to the communities where we operate. Approximately USD 2 million has been donated to worthy organizations in the past ten years of the event.

Read below for further information on the 2022 recipients. 

2021 Executive Advisory Board

Thank you to the Distinguished Achievement Awards Event Executive Advisory Board.

  • Kenny Lang, President & COO, Ridgewood Energy

  • Maria Bonikowska, General Manager, AL Maritime Energy

  • Starlee Sykes, Regional President - Gulf of Mexico & Canada, bp America Inc.

  • Graeme Pirie, Vice President, DNV

  • Richard Clark, President, Kosmos Energy

  • Rod Larson, Chief Executive Officer, Oceaneering

  • Paul Coppinger, President, SPM Oil & Gas, A Caterpillar Company

  • Geeta Thakorlal, President of IntecSea, WorleyParsons

  • Eric Zimmerman, Vice President, Geology, LLOG

  • Galen Cobb, Vice President - Industry Relations, Halliburton

  • Clay Williams, Chairman, President and CEO, NOV



  • AAPG Logo
  • AIChE Logo

  • AIME
  • ASCE

  • ASME
  • IBP

  • MTS
  • SEG
  • SME

  • SPE
  • TMS